Student Worker Spotlight: Studio Engineer Lucas Carver

IMG_2949

We have introduced in a previous blog post the law school’s new podcasting studio, located on the third floor of the law library annex. Law faculty member Christian Turner helped make the studio’s existence possible with a recent grant to renovate space in the library annex and fit it with audio and video recording equipment. Turner’s podcast with fellow faculty member Joseph Miller titled Oral Argument is being recorded in the space, as well as the law library’s own podcast. It’s no surprise that other early users of this space are some of our own law librarians, capturing discussions about legal research and attending or delivering webinars. Regardless of the users of the space, there has been one constant since the studio earlier this year: student worker Lucas Carver.

Circulation manger Marie Mize recently chatted with Lucas about his interests and studies, the studio space, advice for people who may use the space, and the future:

You are an undergrad here at UGA in your final year. Share with us what you are studying, what your degree is in, and why you decided to attend UGA? My major is Entertainment and Media Studies in the Grady College of Journalism. It’s basically a five-dollar word for video/media production. I also am minoring in Studio Art and Film Studies. I picked UGA because I’m from Georgia, and it offered the best education in the region and lets me visit my folks on the weekends.

When and how did you first start working at the law library? I started working at the Law Library in May of 2015. I had worked downtown at bars/venues and those shifts took a lot out of me, so I was looking for something on campus where I could have the benefits of working a traditional student job.

What is your current position at the law library, and can you tell us some of your duties?

IMG_2918I still haven’t thought of a great name for what I do, but I manage and operate the recording space that we’ve built in the Annex! I maintain all of the equipment, experiment with new recording techniques, and help students/faculty use the space. I’ve been interested in recording and production all my life, so it’s fun to be able to learn about compressors and microphones for my job! I also still work the occasional shift at the Circulation Desk.

You are also involved with a show on WUOG, right? Yes! I do a punk subgenre show called “Do You Compute?” and I also do a video game talk show called “Super Chat Bros.” I’ve volunteered at the station ever since I was a freshman, and I’m gonna miss it when I graduate.

What do you like to do in your free time? I guess my big hobby is collecting (read: hoarding) lots of old things like records, comics, books, and music gear. Drawing is another hobby of mine that I’ve been revisiting. After taking a break for a few months, I’ve started carrying around a sketchbook and it’s a great hobby to take up since it teaches you to look at the world in different ways. I also play various instruments and build plastic models when my patience allows.

What are your career goals after you graduate? I plan on staying in Athens for a little bit to get my bearings, and then move to Atlanta to seek out production work. I hear the phrase “Hollywood of the South” a little too often, but it’s true. Production is my calling and the opportunities that are popping up in Georgia are really awesome.

If students and staff plan to schedule a time with you in the podcasting studio, how should they prepare themselves to get the most out of their studio time?

IMG_2925

video-conferencing / web-casting / distance education station

I would recommend that they would have an outline of what they want their end product to be like. Is it a heavily-structured narrative work? Four people having a casual conversation over coffee? My job is to make patrons’ ideas happen, and that is much easier to do when you have a solid idea. If you have a good idea at the heart of your recording, then people will listen.

How else can the studio space be used in addition to making podcasts? The recording space offers a great palette of tools for staff who want to record distance education videos. We use a program called Screencast-O-Matic that allows you to capture PowerPoint presentations while lecturing using our professional-grade microphones. Some folks have even used this setup to record software tutorials, so you can use these tools for more than just distance learning.

If you would like to check out the studio space, meet Lucas, or have ideas for a project that he could help make happen in the podcasting studio space, visit the law school’s webpage to schedule a time to stop by. Also, be sure to stay tuned to our blog for the launch of our next law library podcast episode, which will feature Lucas in conversation with I.T. Director Jim Henneberger and tech-savvy law professor Christian Turner further discussing the new podcasting studio, how the space came to be, and all of their favorite technologies.

This entry was posted in In the Building, podcast, staff profile, Student Insight, Technically Speaking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.