Looking for Peabody Award Winners? Check out our collection!

Peabody Awards - Awarding Stories that MatterEstablished in 1940, the George Foster Peabody Awards recognize distinguished achievement and meritorious public service by TV and radio stations, networks, producing organizations, individuals, and the World Wide Web – “stories that matter” in electronic media. The University of Georgia has been the home of the Peabody Awards since the award was founded.

The 74th annual Peabody Awards ceremony takes place Sunday night, May 31, 2015, at Cipriani Wall Street in New York. The ceremony will be aired on a tape-delayed basis on June 21, 2015, by the cable/satellite channel Pivot, but you don’t have to wait to learn who won. The winners were announced over a two-week period in April and are posted on the Peabody Awards website.

We have number of Peabody Award winners right here in our own video collection at Georgia Law. On display right now in our Reference area and available for checkout are selected winners from the last ten years:

2014 –   American Experience: Freedom Summer

2013 –   Breaking Bad

House of Cards

The Invisible War


Central Park Five

2012 –  The Loving Story

2011 –   Triangle Fire

Freedom Riders

Stonewall Uprising

2010 –  Justified

The Good Wife

The Lord is not on Trial Here Today

2008 – John Adams

2007 – Taxi to the Dark Side

2006 – Why We Fight

For more information about the Peabody Archive or the Peabody Awards, visit www.peabodyawards.com.

This entry was posted in Featured Acquisitions, Just News, Lost in the Stacks (Reference) and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.