All you wanted to know about the electoral college

The Constitution and federal law establish a detailed timetable following the presidential election during which time the members of the electoral college convene in the 50 state capitals and in the District of Columbia, cast their votes for President and Vice President, and submit their votes through state officials to both houses of Congress.  With this unique arrangement, many questions arise.  Who is responsible for opening the the votes of the electoral college?  Where are the votes of the members of the electoral college sent?  What happens when a state submits two different votes from its electors?  All these questions and more are answered in this Congressional Research Report about the electoral college.

This entry was posted in Lost in the Stacks (Reference) and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.